HomeUncategorizedSri Lanka Swears In New Ministers Following Mass Resignations

Sri Lanka Swears In New Ministers Following Mass Resignations

Sri Lankan President, Gotabaya Rajapaksa, has sworn in four new ministers, hours after cabinet ministers tendered their resignations amidst a severe economic and political crisis in the nation.

Officials from the president’s office said former Justice Minister, Ali Sabry, was sworn in as the new Finance Minister, while G.L. Peiris was sworn in as Foreign Minister.

Others sworn in are Dinesh Gunawardena as Education Minister and Johnston Fernando as Highways Minister.

More ministers would be sworn into the cabinet in the coming days if the opposition parties agreed to form a united government, officials said.

Sri Lanka has for days been facing public protests calling for immediate measures to be taken by the government to solve the economic crisis; hours-long power cuts and shortages in fuel and other essential supplies.

Cabinet ministers offered to resign on Sunday night in response to calls from increasing protests amid economic instability and a severe fuel shortage in the country.

On Monday, President Rajapaksa extended an invitation to all political parties to join the government to find solutions to the ongoing crisis.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular