HomePolitics2023: Mass Resignation In Osun as Governor Oyetola Gives Deadline

2023: Mass Resignation In Osun as Governor Oyetola Gives Deadline

Osun State Government had issued an order, instructing all political appointees interested in contesting in the 2023 general elections to resign their appointments.

Reports reveal that Giwa Latifat, Commissioner for Human Resources and Capacity Building and Tadese Raheem, Commissioner for Water Resources and Energy have both tendered their resignations.

Reason for their resignation was to enable them to concentrate in their quest to aspire for the Senatorial seat.

It was also gathered that the Chairman of Osun Primary Health Care Development Board, Leke Ogunsola and Rotimi Makinde, board member, Industrial Training Fund have also resigned.

More political appointees in the State are expected to drop their resignation letters in the coming days.

On Tuesday, the Osun State Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola directed all political appointees in the State with interest in the 2023 election to resign their appointments with immediate effect.

In a letter signed by Oluwole Oyebamiji, the Secretary to the State Government, the Governor stated that the directive was predicated on Sections 84(12) and 29(1) of the Electoral Act 2022, as well as the electoral timetable released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular