HomePoliticsKano Deputy Gov, Gawuna Wins APC Governorship Ticket

Kano Deputy Gov, Gawuna Wins APC Governorship Ticket

Kano State Deputy Governor, Dr Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna has been declared winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Governorship Primary.

Gawuna defeated his opponent, Hon. Sha’aban Ibrahim Sharada to emerge winner of the Primary Election held in the late hours of Thursday, at the Sani Abacha Sports Complex, Kofar Mata, Kano.

Declaring the result, the Chairman of the Gubernatorial Primary Election Committee, Senator Tijjani Yahaya Kaura said Gawuna polled 2,289 votes, while the other aspirant Sha’aban had 30 votes.

He added that the total number of delegates for the exercise is 2,420. Those accredited for the exercise stood at 2,420, total votes cast was 2,339, while invalid votes were 20.

In his words: “I Sen.Tijjani Yahaya Kaura, Chairman of Kano APC Governorship Primary Election Committee, on behalf of the National working committee of our party, hereby announce that results for this election have been collated and counted accordingly. I hereby certify that Dr. Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna, having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner.

“He is, therefore, the standard flagbearer of the APC in the Gubernatorial election that will take place in 2023 in Kano State”.

In his remarks, Gawuna thanked Allah for the victory.

He appreciated the support of Governor Ganduje, the party leaders and delegates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular