HomePoliticsINEC Releases Final List Of Osun Governorship Candidates

INEC Releases Final List Of Osun Governorship Candidates

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the full and final list of cleared governorship candidates in Osun State.

The commission, in a statement by Festus Okoye, the national commissioner and chairman of INEC’s Information and Voter Education Committee in Abuja, said the list was published at its state and local government offices in Osun as required by law.

Mr Okoye added that the list was published in compliance with the Electoral Act 2022, following the close of nominations by political parties.

According to the published particulars of the 15 candidates, while none of the governorship candidates was female, six of the deputy governorship candidates were female.

INEC reminded political parties that under Section 32(2) of the Electoral Act 2022, any party that observes that the name of its candidate is missing from the list “shall notify the commission in writing.”

Mr Okoye explained that a party’s national chairman and secretary must sign such a letter, supported by an affidavit not later than 90 days before the election.

“Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to Section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, which provides that failure to notify the commission ‘shall not be ground to invalidate the election’, the INEC officer stated.

He added, “The final list is published in our state and local government offices in Osun state as well as our website and social media platforms for public information as required by law. Political parties are enjoined to note the provision of the law for compliance.”

Those cleared

1.Akande A. Ogunbiyi – Accord
2.Awojide Segun – AAC
3.Kehinde Atanda – ADP
4. Adegboyega Oyetola – APC
5.Awoyemi Lukuman – APM
6.Adebayo Elisha – APP
7.Adeleke Adedapo – BP
8.Yusuf Lasun – LP
9. Rasaq Saliu – NNPP
10. Abede Samuel – NRM
11.Adeleke Nurudeen – PDP
12.Ayowole Adedeji – PRP
13.Omigbodun Akinrinola – SDP
14. Ademola Adeseye – YPP
15.Adesuyi Olufemi – ZLP



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular